Loading Events

« All Events

Scott Blackburn

November 10 | 6:00 pm

photo by Ross Fletcher Gordon

This event is co-sponsored by Appalachian Journal and The Schaefer Center Presents series
Crime novelist Scott Blackburn is an English instructor and a 2017 graduate of the Mountainview MFA program of Southern New Hampshire University. He lives in High Point, North Carolina, with his wife and two children. When he is not writing and teaching, Scott enjoys training in combat sports such as boxing, Muay Thai, and Ju-jitsu, in which he holds a black belt. His debut novel, It Dies with You, was published in June 2022 by the Crooked Lane Books imprint of Penguin Random House.

ABOUT IT DIES WITH YOU
After his estranged father is murdered in an apparent robbery-gone-bad, prizefighter Hudson Miller unexpectedly inherits his father’s business, a salvage yard called Miller’s Pull-a-part. With his boxing career put on hold by a suspension, Hudson is desperate for money. He returns to his hometown of Flint Creek, North Carolina to run the yard, only to discover that the family business is far more than junk cars and scrap metal; it harbors a deadly, dark secret that will thrust Hudson into the fight of his life.

It Dies with You is a timely story about the long shadows cast by sins of the past.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING
This is a great novel about bad decisions and second chances. Scott Blackburn has a burner of a book on his hands. He’s a crime writer whose name you need to remember, and if you read
It Dies With You, I can guarantee you won’t forget it. Fans of Michael Farris Smith, David Joy, Daniel Woodrell, and Chris Offutt, this is the new writer you’ve been waiting for. Wiley Cash, NY Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind than Home and When Ghosts Come Home

www.scottblackburnwords.com/

FREE and open to the public

DATE
Thursday, November 10

SCHEDULE
Craft Talk: 2-3:15pm
Reading:
6-7:15pm
Book sales will follow each event.

LOCATION
Plemmons Student Union 201B, 169 Three Top Mountain Room

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Susan Weinberg at weinbergsc@appstate.edu

PARKING is free on campus after 5pm. We recommend the College Street Deck (from King Street, turn down College Street at the First Baptist Church). To reach the Student Union, cross College Street and follow the walkway between the chiller plant and the University Bookstore, passing the Post Office and entering the Student Union on the second floor. For further parking information or a map, please see www.parking.appstate.edu.

ABOUT THE VISITING WRITERS SERIES

The Visiting Writers Series is named in honor of the late Hughlene Bostian Frank (class of 1968), a 2013 Appalachian Alumni Association Outstanding Service award recipient, past member of Appalachian’s Board of Trustees and ASU Foundation, long time member of the College of Arts and Sciences Advancement Board and generous supporter of Appalachian State University.

BUSINESS SPONSORS


  • The Gideon Ridge Inn
  • Hellbender Bed and Beverage

UNIVERSITY SPONSORS


  • Appalachian Journal
  • Appalachian State University Foundation, Inc.
  • Appalachian’s Office of Academic Affairs
  • Belk Library
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • Department of English
  • The Schaefer Center Presents
  • University Bookstore

COMMUNITY SPONSORS


  • Thomas McLaughlin
  • Alice Naylor
  • Paul and Judy Tobin

Details

Date:
November 10
Time:
6:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,

Venue

Plemmons Student Union
201-B Plemmons Student Union United States + Google Map